中学生制作可持续发展主题杂志《Forestcast》

Forecast
Dulwich College Beijing

受北京德威智行天下的愿景影响,我们的许多学生希望能够在我们的社区中产生积极的影响,从而在尝试在自己感兴趣的领域开启自己的项目。

我们很自豪地与大家分享,几位北京德威的学生刚刚出版了他们的第一期可持续发展为主题的非盈利杂志《Forestcast》,旨在通过引人入胜的故事和视觉作品,吸引学生和更广泛的社区更多地参与传播环境保护的意识。

以下是来自杂志创始人的介绍:

DCB 杂志Forecast

《Forestcast》最初由学生Lily L和Tiffany L创立,他们试图将对环境的热爱转化为创造性的作品,并以一种学生容易接受的方式让大家关注世界各地发生的问题。作为一本新的学生杂志,《Forestcast》同时还是一个环保主题的创意新闻项目,它旨在将重要的环保相关信息汇集起来,并将其传播给其他人。

出于各种客观原因,这本学生自己的杂志的制作经历了一些波折,造成了其出版时间被延误,直到现在终于成功发行!

12年级的Suah R于2022年加入了这一项目,与新老成员Lily L和Elise S一起,重新开始用《Forestcast》传播有关环境的信息,以前所未有的方式去亲近大自然。

DCB杂志Forecast

每期杂志会有一个主题、几篇文章和其他有趣的片段。第一期的主题是“无处不在的水”,讨论与水和水生物有关的话题。这些文章都是由学生们撰写的,参与写作的学生从Key Stage 3到IB阶段都有。设计和配色方案都由学生自己完成。

不光是学生们广泛参与,第5页有趣的填字游戏和一些生动的照片是由生物老师Deshpande先生提供的。

DCB 杂志Forecast

更重要的是《Forestcast》传达出来的信息。虽然每期主题都是独立的,每篇文章讨论的问题也不同,但重要的是要理解所有这些主题和问题都是相互关联的,而环保是一个需要引起我们广泛关注的、值得探讨和传播的话题。

DCB杂志Forecast

即使是这本由学生共同努力制作的小型社区杂志,也可以成为大社会里的“微薄之变(Teaspoons of Change)”。因此,我们希望学生、老师和家长都来关注第一期、以及日后更多期的《Forestcast》。

希望大家喜欢第一期《Forestcast》!

Senior School students Publish Sustainability Mag Forestcast

Forecast
Dulwich College Beijing

Dulwich College Beijing is founded with the vision for our students to Live Worldwise, which has empowered many of our students to start their own projects to promote subjects and topics close to their hearts that they hope can make a positive difference in our community.

We are proud to share that several of our DCB students have just published their first issue of Forestcast, a student-led non-profit sustainability magazine focused on environmental protection aimed at engaging students and the wider community to be more involved in spreading environmental awareness through engaging stories and visual pieces.    

Here is an introduction from the founders:

DCB magazine Forecast

Forestcast was first founded by students Lily L and Tiffany L, in their attempts to turn their love for the environment into something creative, and a student-friendly way of raising awareness of the issues happening around the world. As an environmental creative journalism project as well as a new student magazine, it aimed to bring together what really mattered, and to spread the idea to others.

However, as a completely student-dependent magazine, and due to unfortunate circumstances, it suffered many delays and pushbacks, unable to be published… until now!

Continued in 2022 by Suah R from Y12, and including both old and new members Lily L and Elise S, Forestcast has returned to spread the word about the environment and to create a closeness with Mother Nature that has never been felt before.

DCB magazine Forecast

Each issue includes a main theme, several articles, and other interesting bits and pieces. The main theme for the first issue is “Water, water, everywhere…”, dealing with issues concerning water bodies and the organisms within. The articles are all written by individual students, whose ages range from KS3 all the way to IBDP students.

And that’s not all, as interesting parts are included within—such as the crossword on page 5 and photographs provided by Mr Deshpande of the Biology department. The design and colour schemes, furthermore, were all provided by students as well.

DCB magazine Forecast

But most important of all, something that should not be forgotten is the information that Forestcast provides us. While each theme will be separate and each article will be discussing different problems, it is important to understand that all of these issues are interlinked and that it is a problem worth publishing—a problem we cannot ignore.

DCB magazine Forecast

Even this small community magazine, created by the combined efforts of students, can be a teaspoon of change in a large society. Thus, we hope students, teachers, and parents alike will take care to the first edition out of what will, hopefully, be many more.

Enjoy the first issue!