2022 校长论坛回顾

Dulwich College Beijing
AMC
DCB Hoc Forum

会场里充满了愉快的谈话声。

2022年9月14日星期三,北京德威的家长与学校领导在校长论坛上见了面,大家都很高兴有机会见到彼此,并再次进行面对面的交谈。

在会上,学校领导分享了关于学术和学校运营的动态。家长们与包括校长在内的学校领导团队面对面进行了长时间的讨论,探讨了对他们和学生来说重要的事情。

活动发言人包括北京德威校长柯睿林、行政校长马然朗、中学部校长Clare Anderson Au、小学部校长Jacinth Gurdon、学前部校长Tracey Francis、中学部副校长Kevin Rossall、体育总监Hannah Marshall、教育科技与创新总监Yosef Karasik,全球公民教育总监Samson Swanick和表演艺术总监Mark Elshout。

柯睿林校长为全校做了总的概述,并介绍了北京德威领导层、管理架构、办学宗旨以及暑假期间令人兴奋的新项目和新设施。在介绍学校愿景“智行天下(Live Worldwise)”时,柯睿林校长诠释道,北京德威的目标是在现在和未来教导学生成为“国际化(worldly)”和“智慧(wise)”的人:“我们尊重本地文化,同时希望学生了解世界上正在发生的事情”,从而对他人和社会“产生积极影响”,也因此为自己和他们的家人建立自豪感。

DCB Hoc Forum

他还谈到了家校合作和沟通的重要性,并强调了“研究表明,如果家长对孩子的学校生活有足够的兴趣,学生会表现得更好。”

最后,柯睿林校长介绍了北京德威学生在过去一年中取得的许多成就。他表示:“明显的进步是,去年有更多的学生IB考试取得了40或更高的分数。” 2021届毕业班有53%的学生取得40分或以上的IB成绩,而2022年毕业班58%的学生获得40或以上的IB成绩。2022届毕业生的IB平均分数高达39.4。

其他学校领导谈到了他们为北京德威社区,特别是为学生所作的工作。新任的学校领导也与家长互相认识,以便更好的沟通。

3

行政校长马然朗先生介绍了刚刚结束的暑假期间,校园内80多处设施的维修和更新情况,其中包括新建的小学部游乐场、科学教室里应学生要求更换的坐姿辅助椅、伍德豪斯剧院新的大型LED显示屏和50盏新的太阳能灯。

体育总监Marshall女士介绍了2022-2023学年北京德威的体育项目,以及她对于体育的教育理念。Marshall女士说:“我们要教育孩子全面发展”,并进一步介绍了北京德威的体育项目如何帮助学生发展技能、建立信心、塑造良好的品格和健康的人际关系。

今年,与太平松体育的新伙伴关系是一项令人振奋的新发展,该合作将为学前部、小学部和中学部学生在三个体育赛季的工作日和周末都能获得“高质量和结构化的训练指导”。

DCB Hoc forum

Rossall先生就一个对学生、家长和教职员工至关重要的话题发表讲话,他介绍了整个儿童安全保障团队,该团队确保学生安全在整个学校处于至关重要的位置。“儿童安全保障是我们所有工作的基础。”

儿童安全保障的相关工作贯穿整个北京德威,包括员工招聘流程和新的iSAMS信息管理系统。iSAMS系统将使学生的身心健康得到更及时的关注,如果出现儿童安全保障方面的风险,就可以尽早得到有效处理。

5

Rossall先生就一个对学生、家长和教职员工至关重要的话题发表讲话,他介绍了整个儿童安全保障团队,该团队确保学生安全在整个学校处于至关重要的位置。“儿童安全保障是我们所有工作的基础。”

儿童安全保障的相关工作贯穿整个北京德威,包括员工招聘流程和新的iSAMS信息管理系统。iSAMS系统将使学生的身心健康得到更及时的关注,如果出现儿童安全保障方面的风险,就可以尽早得到有效处理。

DCB Hoc Forum

全球公民教育总监是一个新设立的职位,任职该职位的Swanick先生提到世界经济论坛的一份研究报告指出,在全球范围内最重要的技能是“全球公民意识”。他介绍了北京德威的全球公民教育框架,其中包括文化素养、可持续性、多样性和身份认同、以及服务和相互依存。Swanick先生的一个关键职责是将该框架进一步整合到北京德威的课程体系中,并使学生具备“寻求解决方案”的能力。与其他北京德威的校领导一样,Swanick先生表示,他欢迎家长和其他利益相关者就全球公民教育的话题与他进行对话。

DCB Hoc Forum

新任表演艺术总监Elshout先生向家长们介绍了学校的音乐课程,并谈到了他们的目标之一,即包容。无论学生本身是什么样的音乐水平,他和他的团队正在帮助更多的学生接触音乐,例如增加更多的Year 2演奏机会。不管学生是否打算成为音乐大师都将从音乐项目中受益。

他们还改进和升级了表演艺术的环境。Elshout先生说:“积极的学习环境对学习非常重要。”

8

在主题演讲结束之后,柯睿林校长与家长们进行了问答环节。

在分组讨论上,Francis女士、Gurdon女士和Anderson-Au女士就各学部的具体问题与家长进行了公开的交流。

DCB HOC forum
DCB HOC forum
DCB HOC forum

北京德威期待着与家长继续交流,我们将通过对话和合作为学生的发展提供长足的支持。

2022 Head of College Forum event recap

Dulwich College Beijing
AMC
DCB Hoc Forum

You could feel the buzz in the room. 

On Wednesday the 14th of September 2022, Dulwich College Beijing parents got to meet the College leaders. DCB parents and school leaders alike were pleased to see each other and speak again in person.

Held in Beijing, DCB parents heard from the College leaders about both academics and school logistics. Parents had ample time to speak face-to-face with the Head of College, Heads of Schools, and directors about things that are important to them and their child/ren.

Event speakers included Head of College Anthony Coles, Director of Business Administration Rob Matheson, Head of Senior School Clare Anderson-Au, Head of Junior School Jacinth Gurdon, Head of DUCKS Tracey Francis, Deputy Head of Senior School (Wellbeing) Kevin Rossall, Director of Sport Hannah Marshall, Director of Educational Technology and Innovation Yosef Karasik, Director of Global Citizenship Samson Swanick, and Director of Performing Arts Mark Elshout. 

Mr Coles gave an overview of Dulwich College Beijing, giving information about DCB leadership, governance structure, guiding statements as well as some exciting updates over the summer. In clarifying what Live Worldwise means, Mr Coles explained how DCB aims to teach students to be “worldly” and “wise” now and in the future, noting that, “We respect the local culture and want our students to understand what’s going on in the world” as well as to “make a positive impact”, resulting in them and their families feeling a sense of pride.

DCB Hoc Forum

He also spoke about the importance of parent-school collaboration and communication, recounting how, “Research says that when there is interest from home, students do better.”

Finally, Mr Coles recounted some of the many things that DCB students have achieved over the last year. “What has changed is that more students have achieved 40 or more IB points over the last year,” said Mr Coles. 53% of the 2020-2021 graduating class achieved 40 points or above, whereas 58% of the 2021-2022 class achieved 40 or more points, and the Class of 2022 graduates achieved an average IB score of 39.4.

Other College leaders addressed key parts of what they do to benefit the DCB community in general, and students, in particular. New members of the team introduced themselves so that parents can know them better.

3

Mr Matheson gave an overview of over eighty campus renovations over the summer, including a new Junior School playground, student-requested back-supporting chairs in science classrooms, a new large-screen LCD screen in Wodehouse Theatre and 50 new solar lamps. 

Ms Marshall gave an overview of the 2022-2023 DCB sports programme and her philosophy underpinning these programmes. “We are here for the whole child”, said Ms Marshall, emphasising how DCB sports help students develop skills, confidence, good character, and relationships.

An exciting new development for students this year is the new partnership with PacificPine Sports, which will allow DUCKS, Junior School and Senior School students to access “highly qualified and structured coaching” on weekdays and weekends through all three sport seasons.

DCB Hoc forum

Speaking on a vital topic for students, parents and staff, Mr Rossall introduced the whole Safeguarding Team, who help to ensure that student safety is number 1 across the school. “We put safeguarding at the very front of what we do.” 

Safeguarding is integrated across DCB, including in staff recruitment processes and through the new iSAMS information management system. This system will allow student welfare to be monitored in a timelier way, helping to ensure that if safeguarding risks appear they can be effectively dealt with early.

5

Addressing technology and innovation, Mr Karasik described how his and his team’s work helps to “drive and advance learning.” He also introduced the group-wide D³ (Dulwich Digital Difference), which is a learning framework to use technology to further educational dreams. It will deliver a connected learning experience and benefit students, parents and staff. It will include the integrated web-based system iSAMS, which is already being used by Senior School students for checking their timetables. iSAMS allow all schools to “talk in the same language” regarding areas like student progress. 

DCB Hoc Forum

Addressing technology and innovation, Mr Karasik described how his and his team’s work helps to “drive and advance learning.” He also introduced the group-wide D³ (Dulwich Digital Difference), which is a learning framework to use technology to further educational dreams. It will deliver a connected learning experience and benefit students, parents and staff. It will include the integrated web-based system iSAMS, which is already being used by Senior School students for checking their timetables. iSAMS allow all schools to “talk in the same language” regarding areas like student progress. 

DCB Hoc Forum

New Director of Performing Arts Mr Elshout introduced the school’s music program to parents and spoke about one of their goals, which is inclusion. He and his team are helping to make music more accessible to more students, such as adding more Year 2 ensembles. This will benefit students at different levels, whether they are planning to become a virtuoso or not. 

They have also improved and upgraded performing arts spaces. “Positive learning environments are very important for learning,” said Mr Elshout.

8

Following the keynote presentations, Mr Coles answered questions from parents.

In the breakout sessions, Ms Francis, Ms Gurdon and Ms Anderson-Au answered school-specific questions. Questions big and small, short-term and long-term were addressed in an open way.

DCB HOC forum
DCB HOC forum
DCB HOC forum

Dulwich College Beijing looks forward to continuing communicating with parents, and together we will support student development through dialogues and partnership.