人物聚焦:中学部新校长

Dulwich College Beijing
AMC
Head of Senior School Clare

北京德威很高兴迎来中学部新任校长Clare Anderson-Au!

Anderson-Au女士自2013年起担任东陵信托国际学校(Tanglin Trust School of Singapore)校领导,领导中学部大约600名学生。她对国际教育有着深刻的见解,在学术和身心健康方面拥有丰富的经验。Anderson-Au女士已经与北京德威领导团队合作完成了全套的入职流程,开始中学部的领导工作。

我们一起来进一步了解Anderson-Au校长吧。

中学部校长

问题1:您能分享一下加入北京德威之前的工作经历吗?

我之前在新加坡东陵信托国际学校(Tanglin Trust School of Singapore)担任了9年的中学部校长。我非常喜欢我在新加坡生活和工作的时光,有许多学习提升的机会。在此之前,我在香港住了13年,在英国学校基金会担任过多个领导职位。我很快就爱上了香港这个城市,以及亚洲的国际学校体系。我职业生涯最初的几年是在英国的市中心学校度过的,这段经历非常宝贵,给我带来一些对教育领域的深刻见解。

 

问题2:您此前来过北京吗?对您来说北京最具吸引力的三项事物是什么?

我没有来过北京,我们一家人都很期待探索这座伟大的城市。对我们来说最具吸引力的是长城、颐和园、饺子(我们喜欢食物)。

 

问题3:总体来说您的教育理念是怎样的?

要回答这个问题可能要写一整篇论文!教育应该是提供一个安全又有趣的环境,每个人都会在教育的旅程中经受挫折、获得成功。这里是容许犯错误的地方,也是被原谅、获得支持的地方。教育帮助成功、成就自我。我很喜欢用爆米花的比喻:玉米粒都是一起放入锅中的,但每个玉米粒会在不同的时间爆裂。我们的职责是支持每一个学生,让他们找到让自己爆裂开花的配方。

 

Clare中学部校长

问题4:您认为国际教育家的核心价值应该是怎样的?

了解自己所在的社区。尊重不同的思维和方法。愿意从所处的环境中学习。

 

问题5:您为什么决定加入北京德威?

北京德威在全球教育网络中享有很高的声誉。在中国,北京德威因关怀员工和学生而闻名。我想加入富有关怀的学校集体,同时在课堂内外努力达到更高标准。

 

问题6:您目前对北京德威的学生和社区印象如何?

在与北京德威社区的多位成员见面后,我感到每个人都友好、热情并且积极向上。我迫不及待地要与每个人见面。

clare中学部校长

问题7:您的领导风格和价值观是怎样的?

我是一个你可以在校园内随时看见我的领导。我想要理解所有人的想法来一同改变和成就彼此。之前的同事形容我诚实并且值得信任。我有强大的道德信念,可以让我保持初心和真诚。

 

问题8:如果你用3个词总结你自己,是哪三个?

平易近人,值得信赖,和热情。

 

问题9:您计划为中学部和整个学校带来怎样的积极变化?

我认为对于我自己和校领导团队来说,与家长建立联系至关重要。希望家长可以重新进入校园,或者我们能找到其他面对面沟通的方法。我们同样要着重于重新建立学生之间的关系。

Meet our new Head of Senior School!

Dulwich College Beijing
AMC
Head of Senior School Clare

We are excited to have Clare Anderson-Au as Dulwich College Beijing’s new Head of Senior School!

Ms Anderson-Au has been a leader at the Tanglin Trust School of Singapore since 2013 and has led the Middle School with around 600 students. She has profound knowledge of international education and extensive experience in academics and wellbeing. Ms Anderson-Au has conducted a comprehensive orientation process with our school leadership team and is currently leading the Senior School.

Read the interview below to learn more about Ms Anderson-Au.

clare-anderson-au-13

Question 1: Can you please share your work experience before joining Dulwich College Beijing?

I moved from Singapore where I worked at Tanglin Trust School as Head of Middle School for 9 years. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Singapore as well as at school and had many wonderful opportunities to further my learning. Before this, I spent 13 years in Hong Kong where I worked for the English Schools Foundation in a number of leadership positions. I fell in love with Hong Kong immediately and the international school system within Asia. My first few years were spent in the UK in some tough inner-city schools. This experience was invaluable, and I gained many great insights into education during this time.

 

Question 2: Have you ever been to Beijing before? Tell us three key attractions the city of Beijing has for you.

We have never been Beijing before this summer. We are looking forward to exploring this great city. Top three would be: 1. The Great Wall 2. The Summer Palace 3. Dumplings (we love to eat).

 

Question 3: How would you summarise your belief in and philosophy of education?

This answer could be a whole essay in itself! Education should be a safe and fun environment where everyone succeeds and fails along their journey. It is the place to make mistakes, and to be supported and forgiven. It is the place to succeed and be celebrated for who you are as an individual. I really like the commonly used analogy of popcorn: Popcorn is all placed into the pot at the same time and yet each corn kernel pops at a different time. It is our role to support each student until they find the ingredient that makes them pop.

Clare Head of Senior School

Question 4: What do you see as the core values for an international educator?

Understanding of the community you are part of. Respect for different thinking and approaches. Willing to learn from the environment you find yourself a part of.

 

Question 5: Why did you decide to join Dulwich College Beijing?

Dulwich has a great reputation as a group of schools throughout the global education network. In China, DCB’s reputation for caring staff and students is second to none. I wanted to come and join a school community that cares about each other whilst striving for even greater standards, be that in or outside of the classroom.

 

Question 6: What is your impression of the students and community of Dulwich College Beijing?

Having gone through many rounds of interviews with all members of the DCB community, I can honestly say that everyone has been friendly, enthusiastic and positive about life at DCB. More recently, I have been enjoying meeting everyone in person.

Clare Head of Senior School

Question 7: How would you describe your leadership style and values?

I am a visible leader who can be seen around the campus. I like to understand the opinions of all members of my community so we can grow, develop and change together. I think previous communities would describe me as honest and very trustworthy. I have a strong moral compass that keeps me centered and true to my beliefs.

 

Question 8: If you could summarise yourself in three keywords, what would they be?  

Approachable, trustworthy and passionate.

 

Question 9: What do you plan to maintain and what positive changes do you plan to bring to Senior School and the College?

I think the main thing for myself, and other members of the leadership team, is to reconnect with our parent community after a period of disruption. Hopefully, we can welcome parents back onto campus or find other ways to meet in person. We are also working on rebuilding the positive relationships our students have